Bihar Election Result 2020: Nitish Kumar Oath Taking Ceremony Updates

Patna: After the ruling National Democratic Alliance got a majority in the Bihar assembly elections, all eyes are on the formation of the next government and there is a possibility that a new government may be formed next week after Diwali. Informed sources gave this information on Wednesday and said that JDU President Nitish Kumar will become the Chief Minister once again.

Nitish Kumar may take oath on Monday (16 November) next week or thereafter, on the path of being the Chief Minister for the longest time in Bihar. Earlier, at the end of November, in view of the term of the present government, he can send the resignation to the Governor.

The record of being the Chief Minister for the longest time in Bihar is in the name of Shri Krishna Singh, who held this post for 17 years and 52 days. Nitish Kumar has been in this post for 14 years and 82 days.

After taking oath as Chief Minister, Kumar's name will fall into the special category of being sworn in as Chief Minister seven times in the last two decades. He was sworn in as the Chief Minister for the first time in the year 2000 but had to resign due to lack of support from the MLAs required for majority.

In 2005, Kumar became the Chief Minister after the NDA got an absolute majority. In 2014, in view of the poor performance of JDU in the Lok Sabha elections, Kumar resigned as the Chief Minister on moral grounds. However, he returned to power in less than a year.

In 2015, JDU of Nitish Kumar and RJD of Lalu Prasad fought the assembly elections by forming a grand alliance which won. However, he resigned in July 2017 when the name of the then Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav appeared in the money laundering case. Kumar, however, formed a new government the next day with the support of the BJP.

Overcoming a tough challenge from the opposition in a very exciting contest in the Bihar Assembly elections, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by Nitish Kumar captured a majority of 125 seats out of 243 seats while the Mahagathbandhan got 110 seats.

Apart from BJP's 74 seats and JDU's 43 seats, Hindustani Awam Morcha got four seats and Vikasthi Insan Party (VIP) got four seats among the partners of the ruling coalition.

At the same time, in the opposition grand alliance, RJD won 75 seats, Congress 19, CPI Male 12 and CPI and CPI-M won two seats each. Chirag Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party has been able to win only one seat after separating from the NDA.

In the first reaction after the Bihar election results came, Nitish Kumar said, “The public is the boss.” He is grateful to the public for the majority he gave to the NDA. “In his tweet, Nitish said,” I thank Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his support. “

Suspense over CM post, PM Modi said – will prove the resolve of development under Nitish Kumar's leadership

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9xmve News - Latest and Breaking India news 2020 Frontier Theme